Tuesday, October 24, 2017

Review: The Pursuit of Lady Harriett by Rachael Anderson

Tanglewood series Book Three

Heidi Reads... The Pursuit of Lady Harriett by Rachael Anderson

My rating: 5 stars / It was amazing



When wills clash and hearts collide, who will reign victorious?
Termed an Incomparable during her first London season, Lady Harriett Cavendish is beautiful, spirited, and confident, capturing the attention of a great many suitors. Unfortunately, they all failed to capture her attention, and she concluded the season as unattached as she’d begun it.

Only weeks prior to her second season, Harriett encounters Lieutenant Christopher Jamison while visiting Tanglewood Manor. Recently returned from war, the lieutenant is everything that Harriett's previous suitors were not. He’s arrogant, ungentlemanly, irritating, and challenges her at every opportunity. When he goes too far, Harriett decides that it’s time to turn the tables on him. But as she sets out to put the lieutenant in his place once and for all, she discovers there is more to him than meets the eye, and when it comes to matters of the heart, she has no control whatsoever.

My Review

Loved it! The characters of Harriett and Christopher are vibrant, even in their flaws. The banter is oh-so-good, and I loved how they tease and one-up each other. Their interest in each other turns to attraction, which develops to deeper feelings. Harriett has certain expectations when it comes to romantic love which don't align with how Christopher keeps emotion at bay with a quip or diversion.
They brought out the vulnerable parts of each other, even though they are both attempting to protect themselves from hurt. The author struck a great balance between humor and heart, and I felt the angst and feelings of the characters through their highs and lows where they learn what they can accept in each other and what they must change in themselves. A great love story that shows the give and take necessary in a relationship.

(I received a complimentary copy of the book; all opinions in this review are my own)

Check out the first two books in the Tanglewood series . . .

Heidi Reads... The Fall of Lord Drayson by Rachael Anderson



Who is he really? A high and mighty lord or a lowly servant?

When Colin Cavendish, the new earl of Drayson, informs Lucy Beresford that she and her mother need to vacate the house they've called home for the past two years, Lucy is fit to be tied. They have no money, no relations they can turn to for help, and nowhere to go. How dare the earl break the promise his father had made to the Beresfords without so much as a twinge of conscience?

Fate plays her hand when Lucy discovers the earl unconscious and injured in the middle of the road. When he awakens with no recollection of who he is, Lucy seizes the opportunity to teach the earl a much-needed lesson in humility and tells him that he is nothing more than a mere servant. Her servant, in fact.

And thus begins the charming tale of a pompous lord and an impetuous young woman, caught together in a web so tangled that it begs the question: Will they ever get out?

Heidi Reads... The Rise of Miss Notley by Rachael Anderson



To escape an undesirable match, Miss Notley must give up her riches for rags.

When Miss Coralynn Notley’s father barters her off to the first titled gentleman to come along, she realizes she must flee her home or be forced to wed a despicable man. Driven by desperation, she applies for the position of housekeeper at Tanglewood Manor, the home of the handsome Mr. Jonathan Ludlow.

The moment Jonathan sees Miss Notley, he is intrigued. She is far too young and inexperienced, yet there is something about her that that inspires a certain hope within him. Does he dare offer her the position of housekeeper or will doing so result in catastrophe?

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thanks for your comment!