Showing posts with label Mimi Matthews. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Mimi Matthews. Show all posts

Thursday, February 13, 2020

Review & Giveaway: The Winter Companion by Mimi Matthews #TheWinterCompanion #MimiMatthews #HFVBTBlogTours




The Winter Companion by Mimi Matthews

Publication Date: February 11, 2020
Perfectly Proper Press
Series: Parish Orphans of Devon, Book Four
Genre: Historical Romance


A winter reunion for the orphans brings romance for Neville Cross in Book 4 of Mimi Matthews' USA Today bestselling Parish Orphans of Devon series.  

She Needed to be Seen...

As a lady's companion, Clara Hartwright never receives much attention from anyone. And that's precisely how she likes it. With a stormy past, and an unconventional plan for her future, it's far safer to remain invisible. But when her new employer is invited to a month-long holiday at a remote coastal abbey, Clara discovers that she may not be as invisible as she'd hoped. At least, not as far as one gentleman is concerned.  

He Wanted to be Heard...

Neville Cross has always been more comfortable with animals than people. An accident in his youth has left him with a brain injury that affects his speech. Forming the words to speak to his childhood friends is difficult enough. Finding the right things to say to a lovely young lady's companion seems downright impossible. But Miss Hartwright is no ordinary companion. In fact, there may not be anything ordinary about her at all. During a bleak Devon winter, two sensitive souls forge an unexpected friendship. But when Clara needs him most, will Neville find the courage to face his fears? Or is saying goodbye to her the most heroic thing he can do?


My Review

5 stars / It was amazing

This author has such a skill at bringing her characters to life! I always pitied Neville in the previous books because of his limitations, but what he really needed was a champion- Clara sees him for who he really is and knows that he is capable. I loved being able to get into his head and seeing just how much he comprehends and what the effects of his head injury really were. Their friendship and romance is just so, so sweet! I have a soft spot for the strong silent type, and Clara's individuality and acceptance of him made them a perfect match. There is a bit of a mysterious subplot throughout the book that provides the impetus for the climax, and it was just right for this gentle romance with three-dimensional characters. It was also fun to revisit the couples from the previous books in the series, and it was an absolute joy to end this wonderful series with such a strong finish. Highly recommend all the books in the Parish Orphans of Devon series!

(I received a complimentary copy of the book; all opinions expressed in this review are my own)


Praise for the Parish Orphans of Devon series

"For this impressive Victorian romance, Matthews crafts a tale that sparkles with chemistry and impresses with strong character development... an excellent series launch that will appeal to fans of Loretta Chase and Stephanie Laurens." -Publishers Weekly (The Matrimonial Advertisement)

"Matthews has a knack for creating slow-building chemistry and an intriguing plot with a social history twist." -Library Journal (The Matrimonial Advertisement)

"As always, Matthews' attention to historical accuracy is impeccable." -Kirkus Reviews (A Modest Independence)

"Mimi Matthews is an exceptional story-teller." -Passages to the Past (The Matrimonial Advertisement)

"Matthews is a bright, shining star in historical romance..." -Austenprose (A Modest Independence)

https://amzn.to/2OTnUgVhttps://amzn.to/2OTnUgVhttps://amzn.to/2OTnUgV


About the Author

USA Today bestselling author Mimi Matthews (A Victorian Lady’s Guide to Fashion and Beauty, The Matrimonial Advertisement) writes both historical non-fiction and traditional historical romances set in Victorian England. Her articles on nineteenth century history have been published on various academic and history sites, including the Victorian Web and the Journal of Victorian Culture, and are also syndicated weekly at BUST Magazine. In her other life, Mimi is an attorney. She resides in California with her family, which includes an Andalusian dressage horse, two Shelties, and two Siamese cats. For more information, please visit Mimi Matthews’ website and blog. You can also connect with her on FacebookTwitterBookBubPinterestGoogle+, and Goodreads.


Blog Tour Schedule

Tuesday, February 11
Review at Bookish Rantings
Review at Historical Fiction with Spirit  
Wednesday, February 12
Review at Rose is Reading
Review at Amy's Booket List
Review & Interview at The Green Mockingbird  
Thursday, February 13
Review at Heidi Reads...
Review at A Chick Who Reads
Review at Lost in a Book Reviewer  
Friday, February 14
Review at Bookish Bellee
Review at Historical Graffiti
Review at Library of Clean Reads
Feature at View from the Birdhouse  
Saturday, February 15
Feature at YA, It's Lit
Review at Gwendalyn's Books
Interview at Donna's Book Blog  
Sunday, February 16
Review at Passages to the Past  
Monday, February 17
Review at Robin Loves Reading  
Tuesday, February 18
Review at The Lit B****

Giveaway

During the Blog Tour, we are giving away a signed copy of The Winter Companion! To enter, please use the Gleam form below. Giveaway Rules – Giveaway ends at 11:59 pm EST on February 18th. You must be 18 or older to enter. – Paperback giveaway is to the US only. – Only one entry per household. – All giveaway entrants agree to be honest and not cheat the systems; any suspicion of fraud will be decided upon by blog/site owner and the sponsor, and entrants may be disqualified at our discretion. – The winner has 48 hours to claim prize or a new winner is chosen.


 




Wednesday, August 21, 2019

Review: The Work of Art by Mimi Matthews


https://amzn.to/2z0p1TS

My rating: 5 stars / It was amazing

http://www.amazon.comhttp://www.amazon.comhttp://www.barnesandnoble.comhttp://www.bookdepository.comhttp://www.goodreads.com

Synopsis

An Uncommon Beauty...

Hidden away in rural Devonshire, Phyllida Satterthwaite has always been considered more odd than beautiful. But in London, her oddity has made her a sensation. Far worse, it's caught the eye of the sinister Duke of Moreland--a notorious art collector obsessed with acquiring one-of-a-kind treasures. To escape the duke's clutches, she's going to need a little help.

An Unlikely Hero...

Captain Arthur Heywood's days of heroism are long past. Grievously injured in the Peninsular War, he can no longer walk unaided, let alone shoot a pistol. What use can he possibly be to a damsel in distress? He has nothing left to offer except his good name.

Can a marriage of convenience save Philly from the vengeful duke? Or will life with Arthur put her--and her heart--in more danger than ever?


My Review

I've only recently discovered the stories of Mimi Matthews and I can't read them fast enough! I was thrilled to see that a new one was releasing this summer. I loved the vivid characters and the unique plot that made the story fresh and interesting. Marriage of convenience is one of my favorite tropes, and this one did not disappoint! There is an element of suspense as Arthur protects Philly from her mercenary uncle and the eccentric duke, which only continues as the danger follows them to their country estate. The genuine friendship they share blossoms into attraction, love and romance, with lovely chemistry. I appreciated that they share in each other's vulnerabilities and provide true encouragement and support. Philly's dogs are a fun addition to the story and play a vital role in the plot, as well as various society friends. A vibrant, well-rounded Regency!

(I received a complimentary copy of the book; all opinions in this review are my own)